The first round of voting in the state assembly elections today. Voting in 30 seats in five districts. Before the start of polling, unrest broke out in the Bhagwanpur assembly constituency of East Midnapore.

 It is alleged that the bombing took place overnight. Potashpur Police Station OC Deepak Kumar Chakraborty was injured in the bomb blast while trying to stop the Trinamool-BJP clash. Both of them have been admitted to the hospital.

 A bomb exploded in front of the OC to stop the clash. Upon receiving the news of the disturbance, the police of Potashpur police station went to the spot at half-past one in the night.