West Bengal and Assam will vote for the second phase of the assembly elections on Thursday, April 1. Voting will be held in 30 constituencies in four districts under the second phase in Bengal, while voting will take place in 39 constituencies in Assam. In this phase, 75,94,549 voters in Bengal will use their franchise to decide the political future of 171 candidates. These include 152 male candidates while only 19 female candidates. A total of 10,620 polling stations have been set up for the second phase in Bengal. At the same time, 345 candidates will be imprisoned in the political future EVM under the second phase in Assam. These include 26 women candidates.

Mamta-Suvendu's reputation at stake in Nandigram

Nandigram is not just the second phase, but also the hottest seat of the entire assembly election, where Chief Minister and Trinamool Congress supremo Mamata Banerjee is on one side and Suvendu Adhikari, who left Trinamool and joined BJP on the other side. At the same time, the CPI (M) has fielded young women leader Meenakshi Mukherjee here.

Section-144 applied in high profile seat Nandigram

Voting will be held on Thursday in Nandigram, a high-profile seat under the second phase. Mamta Banerjee and Shubhendu Adhikari are contesting from this sensitive constituency. An Election Commission official said that to ensure peaceful voting, prohibitory orders have been imposed under section 144 in Nandigram assembly constituency. Not only this, surveillance is also being done in the area with a helicopter.

Ban on entry of outsiders

The Election Commission official said that we want to ensure that the law and order situation does not deteriorate and people can vote without any fear. Therefore, outsiders who are not voters of Nandigram are not allowed to enter the area. In this constituency alone, 22 contingents of central forces have been deployed. It has a total of 355 polling stations.

All polling stations in Nandigram sensitive 

How important the second phase of voting in Bengal is, can be gauged from this that the Central March troops started the route march from Wednesday morning. There will be 22 companies of central forces at 355 polling booths in Nandigram. Drones will also be closely monitored. The Election Commission has already declared all polling stations in Nandigram sensitive. All the entry and exit centers of Nandigram are being closely monitored. 

Web casting arrangements at 267 polling stations 

A special cell is also being opened in the office of the Chief Electoral Officer of the state to monitor the entire voting process in Nandigram. Web casting will be arranged at 267 polling stations in Nandigram. Chief Minister Mamata Banerjee herself is currently camping in Nandigram. Significantly, Nandigram has a total of 2.75 lakh voters, out of which 60 thousand are from minority communities.

Two former IPS fight in Debra

Here BJP has nominated former IPS officer Bharti Ghosh, while Humayun Kabir is in the fray from Trinamool, who has recently resigned from the post of Police Commissioner of Chandannagar. The CPI (M) has raised Pranakrishna Mandal.

Actor Soham's fire test in Chandipur

Trinamool once again reposed confidence in Bengali film actor Soham Chakraborty, this time giving him a ticket from Chandipur. Soham had lost the last assembly election from Barjora seat. This time he is pitted against BJP's Pulak Kanti Guria and CPI-M's Ashish Kumar Guchhait.

Ashok Dinda trying to clean up opposition parties in Moyna

On the election pitch here, former India team fast bowler Ashok Dinda is preparing to take the wickets of the opposing parties. The Trinamool Congress has fielded Sangram Kumar Dolui to bat against him and the Congress has fielded Manik Bhowmik.

Hot faces of second phase in Bengal

Trinamool Congress: Chief Minister Mamata Banerjee, ministers Manturam Pakhira and Soumen Mohapatra, former IPS officer Humayun Kabir, actor Soham Chakraborty and actress Sayantika Banerjee.

BJP: Suvendu Adhikari, former IPS officer Bharti Ghosh, actor Hiranmay Chatterjee and former cricketer Ashok Dinda.

CPI-M: Meenakshi Mukherjee and Chittaranjan Das Thakur.

Voting on how many seats in which district

1- Nine seats of East Medinipur

2- Nine seats of West Medinipur

3- Eight seats of Bankura

4- Four seat of South 24 Parganas

800 companies stationed in Bengal

About 800 companies of central forces will be stationed in the 30 seats where elections are to be held in the second phase in Bengal. In the second phase, the political fate of two state ministers Manturam Pakhira and Somen Mahapatra will also be decided. Former state minister Manas Bhuiyan is also in the fray from Trinamool. Two former IPS officers, BJP's Bharti Ghosh and Trinamool's Humayun Kabir are also challenging each other. Three Tollywood actors Soham Chakravati and Sayantika Banerjee from Trinamool and Hiranmay Chatterjee from BJP are also thrashing.

310 companies of central forces deployed in Assam 

As many as 345 candidates, including 26 women, are in the fray for 39 assembly seats in Assam. Significantly, out of total 126 assembly seats in Assam, 47 seats have been voted on March 27 in the first phase. The last phase of elections in the state will be held on April 6. During the second phase of polling on April 1, 310 Squads of Central Armed Police Forces (CAPFs) and 90 companies of Assam State Police have been deployed to maintain the security system.