Six states of the country are considered extremely sensitive in view of the appalling situation arising due to the ever-increasing corona infection cases in Maharashtra. Given this, the Maharashtra government has issued a new SOP according to which train passengers from Kerala, Goa, Rajasthan, Delhi-NCR, Gujarat, and Uttarakhand will have to undergo RT-PCR test 48 hours before the journey to Maharashtra. Entry into the state will be allowed only after the report comes negative. 

The state government has issued these new SOPs for passengers arriving in long-distance trains from these states to prevent the spread of coronavirus. All passengers will be compulsorily checked at the railway station and only then passengers will be allowed to board trains for Maharashtra. Maharashtra Chief Secretary Sitaram Kunte said in an order on Sunday, that Kovid rules will have to be fully followed during the yatra. During this time it will be necessary for everyone to keep an eye on the physical distance. No unreserved ticket should be issued to Maharashtra on trains running from these six states.

The state government led by Chief Minister Uddhav Thackeray has asked the Railway Ministry to provide thermal scanners at all exit points in stations and strictly enforce Covid-19 regulations in trains. Indian Railways has already announced that He will impose a fine of Rs 500 on those who do not wear face masks and spit in the railway premises including trains. Railways can take action with immediate effect for a period of six months regarding the order issued in this regard.