IPL 2021: Chennai Super Kings again champion, won IPL title for the fourth time, broke KKR's dream

Khushbu Kumari Jha
Khushbu Kumari Jha 15/10/2021 23:36 IST
Follow Us on
Google news
IPL 2021, Chennai Super Kings, champion, cricket news

Chennai Super Kings has won the IPL title for the fourth time. The team defeated KKR by 27 runs in the final of IPL 2021. As captain, MS Dhoni made his 300th match memorable.

Dubai. Chennai Super Kings have won the title of IPL 2021. The team defeated KKR (Kolkata Knight Riders) by 27 runs in the final.CSK won the IPL title for the fourth time and all under the captaincy of MS Dhoni. This was Dhoni's 300th match as captain. With this, the team also avenged the defeat of KKR in the 2012 IPL final. Batting first, CSK made a huge score of 192 runs for 3 wickets. In reply, KKR's team could only score 165 runs.CSK's opener Faf du Plessis played brilliant innings of 86 runs.

The team of KKR, who came out to chase the target, got the support of luck. On the third ball of the second over, MS Dhoni took a simple catch of Venkatesh Iyer. They were playing at zero at that time. The bowler was Jos Hazlewood and the team's score was 6 runs. After this, Gill and Iyer (50) gave KKR a great start by adding 91 runs in 10.4 overs for the first wicket. Iyer faced 32 balls. Hit 5 fours and 3 sixes. Iyer also scored the fourth half-century of the season.

Great comeback with 3 wickets for 6 runs

KKR's score at one point was 91 runs without a wicket. On the fourth ball of the 11th over, Shardul Thakur dismissed Iyer first and Nitish Rana (0) on the last ball of the same over. After this, in the next over, Hazlewood gave the third blow to KKR by dismissing Sunil Narine (2). The team's score was 97 runs. Naren could not do anything amazing this time.

Gill also returned with a half-century

Opener batsman Shubman Gill got out on the ball of Deepak Chahar after scoring 51 runs. Left-arm spin bowler Ravindra Jadeja first pushed KKR on the back foot by dismissing Dinesh Karthik (9) and then Shakib Al Hasan (0) in the 15th over. Rahul Tripathi was also dismissed for just 2 runs off Shardul's ball. Captain Morgan also could not do much and scored 4 runs and was dismissed by Hazlewood. Mavi got out in the last over after scoring 20 runs. The team could only score 165 runs for 9 wickets in 20 overs. Shardul Thakur took 3 wickets.

Added 61 runs for the first wicket

Earlier, after losing the toss, Chennai Super Kings got off to a good start by Rituraj Gaikwad and Faf du Plessis. Both added 61 runs for the first wicket in 8.1 overs. Rituraj scored 32 runs off 27 balls and was dismissed by Sunil Narine. After this, Robin Uthappa (31) showed fast hands. He faced 15 balls and hit 3 sixes. They also fell victim to Naren. He shared a 63-run partnership for the second wicket.

Du Plessis hit his sixth half-century of the season

Du Plessis got life for 2 runs in the match. On the first ball of the third over, Dinesh Karthik missed his stumping off Shakib. Plessis was dismissed on the last ball of the innings after scoring 86 off 59 balls. This was his sixth fifty of the season. Both du Plessis and Rituraj scored more than 600 runs in the current season. Hit 7 fours and 3 sixes. Moeen Ali remained unbeaten on 37 off 20 balls. He hit 2 fours and 3 sixes. Apart from Narine, Shivam Mavi got a wicket. Lockie Ferguson gave 56 runs in 4 overs.

Category: Sports: Cricket