Assembly elections: Election commission gives relief in rules for registration of new parties, reducing notice period to seven days

Pankaj Prasad
Assembly elections, Election commission, Corona virus, Election Commission of India, Covid-19 epidemic, registration of new parties

In view of the difficulties being faced by the restrictions imposed due to Corona virus, the Election Commission has announced to give relief in the rule for new parties registering in five electoral states.

The Election Commission of India made a big announcement on Friday for five electoral states. The commission has reduced the notice period for registration of new political parties in these states from 30 days to seven days. The commission has taken this decision in view of the difficulties being faced by the restrictions imposed due to the Covid-19 epidemic.

In a statement issued by the commission, it has been said that under the extant guidelines, a party seeking to register has to file an application within 30 days from its formation. The applicant is asked to publish the proposed name of the party in two national dailies and two local dailies for two days.

Any objection, if any, regarding the proposed registration of the party has to be filed within 30 days from the date of publication of the notice. The commission said that due to the restrictions of the Covid-19 epidemic, there have been delays and irregularities in the applications for registration. Due to this there is a delay in the registration of the political party.

The Commission said that after considering all the aspects, the Commission has decided to reduce the notice period from 30 days to seven days, giving relief. This decision will be applicable to those parties which have published their public notice on or before January 8.

"For all parties, including those political parties which have published their public notices on or before January 8, any objections, if any, shall be submitted by 5.30 pm of January 21 on or as originally made available," the statement said. can be filed within a period of 30 days, whichever is earlier.

Elections are to be held in these five states, such is the schedule. The five states in which elections are to be held are Uttar Pradesh, Uttarakhand, Punjab, Manipur and Goa. Assembly elections will be held in seven phases in Uttar Pradesh where it will begin on February 10 and the last phase of polling will be held on March 7. Apart from this, on February 14, in Punjab, Uttarakhand and Goa, all the seats will go to polls on a single day.

At the same time, in Manipur, which has 60 assembly seats, elections will be held in two phases on February 27 and March 3. According to the Election Commission, the counting of votes for all these states will be done on March 10.

Also Read

LPG Price 01 July 2022: From today LPG cylinder becomes...

Bihar: Opposition MLAs did not attend the monsoon session, legislature...