Get Honorary PhD

41 candidates including Chidambaram, Sibal, Misa Bharti elected unopposed, eight of BJP in UP

Pankaj Prasad
Rajya Sabha Elections
Rajya Sabha Elections

Candidates of all 11 seats of UP have been elected unopposed.

The results of the members being elected unopposed for the Rajya Sabha elections to 57 seats in 15 states, to be held on June 10, have also started coming out. It is reported that about 41 leaders, including senior Congress leader P Chidambaram, independent candidate Kapil Sibal, Lalu Prasad's daughter and RJD leader Misa Bharti, have been elected unopposed to the Rajya Sabha. The biggest thing is that BJP has conquered the fort of UP. BJP leaders have been elected unopposed for eight of the 11 Rajya Sabha seats here. Of the remaining three seats, one has been won by independent candidate Kapil Sibal, who was contesting with the support of the SP.

Elected members on 41 seats in 11 states

According to media reports, candidates of all 11 seats of UP have been elected unopposed. Apart from this, six candidates have been elected unopposed in Tamil Nadu, five in Bihar, four in Andhra Pradesh, three each in Madhya Pradesh and Odisha, two each in Chhattisgarh, Punjab, Telangana and Jharkhand and one in Uttarakhand. Out of 41 candidates elected unopposed, 14 are from BJP, four each from Congress and YSR Congress. Three each from DMK and BJD, two each from Aam Aadmi Party, RJD, Telangana Rashtra Samithi, AIADMK, one each from JMM, JD(U), SP and RLD and independent Kapil Sibal.

8 BJP candidates elected unopposed in UP

According to news agency ANI, out of 11 Rajya Sabha seats in UP, BJP has won 8 seats. The eight seats where BJP candidates have been elected unopposed include Darshana Singh, Babu Ram Nishad, Mithilesh Kumar, Radha Mohan Das Agarwal, Dr K Laxman, Dr Laxmikant Bajpai, Surendra Singh Nagar and Sangeeta Yadav. In the remaining three seats, RLD's Jayant Chaudhary, SP's Javed Ali Khan and independent Kapil Sibal have been elected unopposed.

All seven candidates of Bihar-Jharkhand won

Simultaneously, all five candidates from Bihar were elected unopposed, including Misa Bharti and Fayaz Ahmed (RJD), Satish Chandra Dubey and Shambhu Sharan Patel (BJP) and Khiru Mahto (JDU). RJD chief Lalu Prasad's eldest daughter Bharti and Dubey have been elected to the Rajya Sabha for the second time in a row. At the same time, one of the two seats in Jharkhand, Mahua Maji of JMM and Aditya Sahu of BJP have been elected unopposed for the other seat.

Harbhajan Singh elected unopposed from Punjab

In Punjab, AAP candidate-eminent environmentalist Balbir Singh Seechewal and entrepreneur-social activist Vikramjit Singh Sahni were declared the winners. The terms of Ambika Soni (Congress) and Balwinder Singh Bhundar (Shiromani Akali Dal) from Punjab are ending on July 4. In March, AAP had nominated former cricketers Harbhajan Singh, Raghav Chadha, Lovely Professional University founder Ashok Mittal, former IIT Delhi faculty member Sandeep Pathak and industrialist Sanjeev Arora to the Rajya Sabha. All of them were elected unopposed from Punjab.