After BJD's support, the road to victory for NDA candidate Draupadi Murmu became easy

Pankaj Prasad
Draupadi Murmu
Draupadi Murmu

Odisha's Chief Minister Naveen Patnaik has made the path of victory of Draupadi Murmu of Odisha easy in the presidential election.

Presidential Election 2022: With the announcement of the support of National Democratic Alliance (NDA) candidate Draupadi Murmu by the ruling Biju Janata Dal (BJD) in Odisha, the road to the victory of the ruling coalition at the center in the presidential election has become easy. Is. With this, the way has also been paved for the country to get the first tribal and youngest President of India.

Draupadi Murmu set to get 52 percent votes

After the announcement of BJD's support to Draupadi Murmu, NDA is believed to get more than 52 percent of the total votes. The total votes in the presidential election are 10,86,431. Now 5,67,000 votes are expected in the NDA account. It also includes 3,08,000 votes of MPs from the Bharatiya Janata Party and its allies.

BJD's total 32,000 votes in the electoral college

The BJD has a total of 32,000 votes in the electoral college, which is 2.9 percent of the total votes. The BJD has 114 MLAs in the 147-member Odisha Assembly, while the BJP has 22. The BJD has 12 members in both the houses of the Parliament. The BJP hopes that the NDA candidate may also get the support of some regional parties like YSR Congress and All India Anna Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam (AIADMK).

BJP has 92 MPs in Rajya Sabha

After the recent biennial elections to the Rajya Sabha, the total strength of the BJP in the Upper House has gone up to 92, while it has 301 members in the Lok Sabha. The BJP's landslide victory in the recent assembly elections in four states, including Uttar Pradesh, has also boosted the NDA candidate's chances of victory. The value of vote of MLAs of Uttar Pradesh is highest as compared to any other state.

NDA's vote reduced compared to 2017

However, the number of NDA MLAs in this election is less as compared to the 2017 presidential election. However, the number of its MPs has increased. However, the BJP on Tuesday surprised everyone by announcing the name of former Jharkhand Governor Murmu as its presidential candidate. If Murmu wins the election, she will replace Ramnath Kovind.

BJP's 393 out of 776 MPs

According to the latest figures, the BJP has a total of 393 members out of a total of 776 members of both the Houses of Parliament. These do not include the four nominated members of the Rajya Sabha, because they cannot vote in the presidential election. In addition to the 21 MPs of Janata Dal (United), the membership of the National Lok Janshakti Party, Apna Dal and MPs of regional and allied parties of the Northeast is added, then the BJP candidate reaches a stronger position.

MPs vote value 700

The value of the vote of the members of Rajya Sabha and Lok Sabha is 700. There are a total of 4,033 MLAs in the states. The vote of these MLAs is determined according to the state. The final list of electors will be released after the results of the by-elections to three Lok Sabha seats and 16 Rajya Sabha seats. 64-year-old Murmu has been the governor of Jharkhand from 2015 to 2021.

Draupadi Murmu was the first woman governor of Jharkhand

Draupadi Murmu was the first woman governor of Jharkhand. She was the first governor who completed her term. The term of the current President Ram Nath Kovind ends on July 24. The opposition has made former Union Minister Yashwant Sinha a joint candidate in the presidential election. In such a situation, voting is scheduled to be held on July 18. Counting of votes will take place on July 21.

Nominated members do not cast votes in Lok Sabha, Vidhan Sabha

The President is elected by the members of the electoral college, which consists of elected members of both the Houses of Parliament and elected members of the Legislative Assemblies of all the states, including Delhi and the Union Territory of Puducherry. Nominated members of Rajya Sabha and Lok Sabha or State Assemblies are not eligible to be included in the electoral college. Therefore, they are not entitled to participate in the elections. Similarly, the members of the Legislative Councils are also not voters for the Presidential election.