Get Honorary PhD

So Jagdeep Dhankhar's victory was confirmed with so many votes? Learn the full equation

Amit Kumar Jha
Vice President Election Jagdeep Dhankhar
Vice President Election Jagdeep Dhankhar

The results of the Vice Presidential election will be out by this evening. Sometime from now, the members of Rajya Sabha and Lok Sabha will vote for the new Vice-President.

The results of the Vice Presidential election will be out by this evening. Sometime from now, the members of Rajya Sabha and Lok Sabha will vote for the new Vice-President. Margaret Alva from the opposition and Jagdeep Dhankhar from the BJP-led NDA are the candidates.  

Take a look at the figures that the victory of NDA candidate Jagdeep Dhankhar is almost certain. Jagdeep can win the election only with the votes of BJP members. With the help of other coalition parties and some opposition parties, Dhankhar's victory margin will increase significantly. Let us understand what the electoral equation says just before voting...? 

How many parties are in support of Dhankhar? 

Jagdeep Dhankhar, who was the Governor of West Bengal, has been nominated by BJP, JDU, Apna Dal (Sonelal), BJD, BSP, AIADMK, YSR Congress, Lok Janshakti Party, NPP, MNF, NDPP, Republican Party of India (Athawale), Shiv Sena (Shinde faction). , got the support of parties like Akali Dal. 

How many parties are in favor of Alva? 

Margaret Alva, the Vice Presidential candidate from the opposition, has got the support of Congress, NCP, Left, National Conference, Samajwadi Party, DMK, RJD, Aam Aadmi Party, TRS, JMM. The Shiv Sena Uddhav Thackeray faction has also supported Alva. Shiv Sena MP Sanjay Raut had also participated in the nomination process of Alva. However, most of the Shiv Sena members are with the NDA candidate Jagdeep Dhankhar. 

Know from the figures how many members will vote? 

In the election of Vice President, all the members of Lok Sabha and Rajya Sabha cast their votes. It also includes nominated MPs. At present, the number of members in the Lok Sabha is complete. That means there are full 543 MPs. At the same time, there are a total of 245 members in the Rajya Sabha. There are 12 nominated MPs in them. At present eight seats are vacant. Of these, four were due to the dissolution of the Jammu and Kashmir Assembly, while one seat was left by Manik Saha, who became the new Chief Minister of Tripura. Seats of three other nominated members are also vacant. Now these seats are difficult to fill.

In this sense, 237 Rajya Sabha MPs will vote in the Vice Presidential election. Now let's look at the overall voter numbers. The total number of voters becomes 783 by including 237 members of Rajya Sabha and 543 members of Lok Sabha. However, Trinamool Congress i.e. TMC has decided to stay away from voting. At present, the TMC has 23 members in the Lok Sabha and 13 in the Rajya Sabha. In this way a total of 36 MPs can stay away from voting. Meaning the overall number of voting members will be 747. 

How many votes are needed to win? 

The total number of voters can be around 747. In such a situation, the candidate would need 374 first preference votes to win. 

How many votes can Dhankhar get? 

At present, the BJP has 303 members in the Lok Sabha, while the Rajya Sabha has 91. Apart from these 91 in Rajya Sabha, five nominated members can also vote for BJP. In this way, the present time BJP easily gets 394 votes. If the votes of five nominated members are added to this, then this number is becoming 399. It is clear that the BJP can easily win its Vice Presidential candidate Dhankhar single-handedly. 

Now if allies are included in this, then BJP will become stronger. At present, the BJP has the support of 31 MPs in the Lok Sabha and 16 in the Rajya Sabha. These include parties like JDU, RPI, Lok Jan Shakti Party, Apna Dal, AIADMK, NPP, etc. By adding their votes, BJP gets 446 votes.

Going a little further, till now many opposition parties have also given support to Dhankhar. These include BJD, YSR Congress, BSP, Shiv Sena (Shinde faction), Akali Dal. BJD currently has 21 in Lok Sabha and Rajya Sabha, YSR Congress has 31, if the votes of all these are added up, the BJP's figure reaches 498. Apart from this, some other parties including 12 Lok Sabha members of Shiv Sena Eknath Shinde faction can also vote for Dhankhar. Dhankhar will also get 11 votes of BSP, two votes of Akali Dal. In this way, the BJP candidate can get around 523 votes in the election. Meaning Dhankhar will get more votes than the 374 earmarked for victory.

How many votes in favor of Alva?

According to the figures so far, 84 of Congress, 34 of DMK, nine of NCP, six of RJD, six of Samajwadi Party, 16 of TRS, 10 of Aam Aadmi Party, three members of JMM can vote for Alva. . In this way 168 votes can easily be got in favor of Alva.