BCCI announces squad for ASIA CUP 2022, Virat Kohli, KL Rahul return, injured Bumrah out

Pankaj Prasad
Asia Cup 2022
Asia Cup 2022

BCCI has announced the Indian team for the Asia Cup 2022.

New Delhi : Former captain Virat Kohli and re-fit vice-captain Lokesh Rahul have made a comeback in the 15-man Indian squad selected for the Asia Cup, while veteran pacer Jasprit Bumrah has been ruled out due to a back injury. Rahul could not participate in the previous series against West Indies due to the grip of Kovid-19. He has returned to the team after recovering from sports hernia surgery.

Shreyas Iyer did not get the place

Notable names dropped from the main team include batsman Shreyas Iyer and left-arm spinner Axar Patel. Fast bowler Deepak Chahar, who has been out of the team for four months due to muscle strain and back injury, is also included in the reserve players. Harshal Patel, who is suffering from a rib injury, has also not found a place in the main team. BCCI wrote on Twitter, Jasprit Bumrah and Harshal Patel were not available for selection due to injuries. He is currently on rehabilitation at NCA in Bangalore.

Bumrah injured, BCCI informed

Senior fast bowler Jasprit Bumrah has been ruled out of the Asia Cup T20 tournament due to a back injury. It will take some time for Bumrah to recover from this. The Indian team for this tournament has been announced on Monday. A senior BCCI official said on condition of anonymity, Jasprit Bumrah has a back injury and will not play in the Asia Cup. He is our main bowler and we want him to regain his momentum before the T20 World Cup.

Bumrah will be back in the World Cup squad

He said that we do not want to take the risk by including him in the team of Asia Cup, it may make his injury more serious. Bumrah was last seen on the field in the ODI series against England. Since then he has been rested. He is currently holidaying in America with his family.

Indian team for Asia Cup

Rohit Sharma (capt), Lokesh Rahul (vice-captain), Virat Kohli, Suryakumar Yadav, Deepak Hooda, Rishabh Pant (wk), Dinesh Karthik (wk), Hardik Pandya, Ravindra Jadeja, Ravichandran Ashwin, Yuzvendra Chahal, Ravi Bishnoi, Bhuvneshwar Kumar Arshdeep Singh, Avesh Khan.