Get Honorary PhD

AUS vs ZIM: Zimbabwe beat Australia at home for the first time, won the third ODI by three wickets

Amit Kumar Jha
Australia vs Zimbabwe
Australia vs Zimbabwe

Zimbabwe team has won a match for the first time on Australian soil. This is the third time in ODI cricket that Zimbabwe has defeated Australia.

Zimbabwe won the third match of the ODI series between Zimbabwe and Australia by three wickets. This is the first time that Zimbabwe's team has won a match in Australia. Batting first, Australia scored 141 runs in this match and Zimbabwe achieved the target in 11 overs for the loss of seven wickets. Zimbabwe created history with this win. However, Australia won the ODI series 2-1. Ryan Burle, who took five wickets for Zimbabwe, contributed 11 runs with the bat and was adjudged the player of the match. 

So far 33 ODIs have been played between Zimbabwe and Australia and only three matches have been won by Zimbabwe. This is the first time Zimbabwe has defeated Australia at home. At the same time, Zimbabwe has defeated Australia for the first time since 2014. Earlier in 2014, Zimbabwe had defeated Australia at the Harare ground. The first ODI match between Zimbabwe and Australia was played in 1983 and Zimbabwe won by a margin of 13 runs in Nottingham. After this, defeating Australia by three wickets in Harare in 2014 and now history has repeated for the third time. 
David Warner took Australia beyond 100
Zimbabwe won the toss and invited the Australian team to bat first and took full advantage of the conditions. Ryan Burle took five wickets for 10 runs in three overs. Brad Evans took two wickets. Nagarwa, Nyuchi and Sean Williams got a wicket each. Apart from David Warner, no batsman could do anything special for Australia. Apart from him, Maxwell, who scored 19 runs, could only touch the double figure. 

David Warner was dismissed after scoring 94. He hit 14 fours and two sixes in his innings. Australia captain Finch was dismissed for five runs, Steve Smith, one run, Alex Carey four runs, Marcus Stoinis three runs and Cameron Green three runs. Adam Zampa remained unbeaten on one run. 
Captain Chakabwa wins Zimbabwe
The target of 142 runs on a difficult pitch was not easy for Zimbabwe, but the chances of victory were clear. The opening pair of Kaitano and Marumani got off to a good start and added 38 runs for the first wicket. Chasing a small target, it was a good start. Kaitano got out after scoring 19 runs and wickets started falling at one end. Five wickets of the team had fallen on the score of 77 runs. Marumani also left the team after scoring 35 runs. Captain Regis Chakabwa and Tony Munyonga then took over the innings. Both shared 39 runs for the sixth wicket and took the team's score beyond 100. Tony was out on the score of 115. He scored 17 runs. 

Captain Chakabwa and Ryan Burle shared a 22-run partnership for the seventh wicket, Burl was dismissed after scoring 11 runs, but by then the team's score was 137 runs and victory was decided. In the end, Regis Chakabwa along with Brad Evans led the team to victory with three wickets in hand. Captain Regis Chakabwa remained unbeaten on 37 and returned only after giving victory to the team.