Sanju Samson, Umran and Kuldeep will also captain India A in the ODI series against New Zealand A

Pankaj Prasad
Sanju Samson
Sanju Samson

The ODI series between India A and New Zealand A will start from 22 September.

India's star wicketkeeper-batsman Sanju Samson has been named the captain of the India A team for the upcoming three-match ODI series against New Zealand A. The series is starting from 22 September and all three matches are to be played in Chennai. The team also includes explosive opener Prithvi Shaw , as well as Rahul Tripathi and Rajat Patidar, who had impressive performances in the Indian Premier League this year.

Umran Malik in the team because of his speed

Speed ​​sensation Umran Malik has also been included in the team. He is playing for India on the basis of consistent performance in IPL 2022. His fellow pacers Kuldeep Sen, Shardul Thakur, Navdeep Saini and Raj Angad Bawa have also found a place in the team. Bawa had been a part of Chennai Super Kings in the IPL this year as he was picked after consecutive outings for the victorious Indian team in the U19 World Cup in February.

KS Bharat got a place in the team as a wicketkeeper

Ruturaj Gaikwad and Abhimanyu Easwaran have also been selected for the three-match series. Young Tilak Verma, who attracted attention for his impressive performance for Mumbai Indians in the IPL 2022 season, has also been picked. Along with Samson, KS Bharat has also been called in as another wicketkeeper in the team. Among the spinners, Kuldeep Yadav, Rahul Chahar and Shahbaz Ahmed lead the attack.

After IPL, Samson got a chance in the team

Samson was an integral part of India's limited overs squad after the IPL, but did not find a place in the squad for the Asia Cup 2022. Samson failed to make it to the 15-man squad for the T20 World Cup as well, with Dinesh Karthik and Rishabh Pant emerging from the already strong positions in the wicketkeeping roles. However, the wicket-keeper batsman will aim to succeed as captain in the series against New Zealand A.

This is the whole team 

Prithvi Shaw, Abhimanyu Easwaran, Ruturaj Gaikwad, Rahul Tripathi, Rajat Patidar, Sanju Samson (c), KS Bharat (wk), Kuldeep Yadav, Shabaz Ahmed, Rahul Chahar, Tilak Verma, Kuldeep Sen, Shardul Thakur, Umran Malik. Navdeep Saini and Raj Angad Bawa.