India won the Women's Asia Cup title for the seventh time, defeating Sri Lanka by 8 wickets

Pankaj Prasad
India won Womens Asia Cup
India won Womens Asia Cup

India won the title by defeating Sri Lanka by eight runs in a one-sided match in the final of the Women's Asia Cup today.

India continued to dominate the Women's Asia Cup after beating Sri Lanka by eight wickets in the final for their seventh title at the Sylhet International Cricket Stadium on Saturday. This was the eighth edition of the Women's Asia Cup. Sri Lanka, playing their first tournament final in 14 years, could only manage 65 for nine after deciding to bat on a slow and turning pitch. India achieved the target in 8.3 overs for the loss of two wickets.

Renuka Singh took three wickets

Sri Lankan captain Chamari Atapattu was run out in the third over, after which the wickets fell. Anushka Sanjeevani was also run out after six balls. Renuka Singh , who has been in fine form since the Commonwealth Games in August, sent Hasini Perera to the pavilion with the very first ball. She returned with a catch at cover and at that time Sri Lanka's score was nine for four.

No big partnership from Sri Lanka

Sri Lanka desperately needed a partnership, but after the dismissal of Kavisha Dilhari, half of Sri Lanka's team returned to the pavilion for 16 runs. Rajeshwari Gaikwad got her first wicket when Nilakshi de Silva tried to cut a ball close to her body and the ball hit the stumps. At one point Sri Lanka were reduced to 32 for eight, then it seemed that the team would not even reach the total of 50. But Ranvira saved him from that notoriety by scoring an unbeaten 18 off 22 balls.

Great bowling by Indians

The Indians bowled with discipline but poor shot selection contributed more to Sri Lanka's quick fall. After the memorable win over Pakistan in the semi-finals, it looked like this opportunity would be better for Sri Lanka. But the team did not appear in that rhythm at all. India lost Shafali Verma and Jemima Rodrigues cheaply in the run chase. However, both the batsmen performed well in the tournament.

Mandhana hits the winning shot

After this, Smriti Mandhana led the team to victory. Captain Harmanpreet Kaur remained unbeaten on 11 off 14 balls. Mandhana hit six fours and three sixes in her innings and took the winning runs by hitting Oshadi Ranasinghe for a six. This win is a big achievement for India's preparations for next year's T20 World Cup. The confidence of the team would have increased a lot.