Get Honorary PhD

PAK vs NZ T20 Playing 11: New Zealand team will take revenge on Pakistan in Sydney, know the possible playing-11

Pankaj Prasad
New Zealand vs Pakistan
New Zealand vs Pakistan

New Zealand has faced Pakistan thrice in the semi-finals of the ICC World Cup, but the Kiwis have lost all three times.

The first semi-final of the T20 World Cup is to be played between New Zealand and Pakistan today (Wednesday 9 November). Be it T20 or ODI in the World Cup, New Zealand's team has never won against Pakistan in the semi-finals. The Kane Williamson-led Kiwis would like to break the chain. New Zealand and Pakistan had faced each other in the 1992 and 1999 ODI World Cups. After this, both the teams also faced in the semi-finals of the 2007 T20 World Cup and Pakistan won all three matches. The Kiwi team will land in Sydney to avenge these three defeats.

This time New Zealand's team is in excellent form. New Zealand had topped the Group of Deaths (Group-1) consisting of England, hosts Australia, Sri Lanka and Afghanistan, Ireland. New Zealand's batting and bowling are more balanced than Pakistan's. However, Pakistan's team, which reached the semi-finals with the help of luck, would not like to lose the opportunity that came their way. The 2009 champions Pakistan are going to play the semi-finals for the sixth time and would like to make the final of the T20 World Cup for the third time. 

The New Zealand team has lost three World Cup finals (2015 and 2019 ODIs and 2021 T20Is) in the last seven years under the captaincy of Kane Williamson. This time Captain Williamson is playing ahead and his batsmen and bowlers are also giving him full support.

Pakistan's record in T20: Before the World Cup, hosts New Zealand lost to Pakistan in the final of the triangular T20 series. Pakistan and New Zealand have played 28 T20 matches so far. In this, Pakistan has won 17 and New Zealand has won 11 times. In the T20 World Cup too, both the countries have played six matches against each other. In these, Pakistan has won four times, including the semi-finals of 2007, while New Zealand's team has won only two matches.

The chances of rain are low , the chances of the team batting first are said to be very less during the heavy semi-final match. So far six matches of this World Cup have been held at the Sydney Cricket Ground (SCG). The teams batting first have won five times. In the first match of Super-12, New Zealand defeated hosts Australia by 89 runs at the same ground. At the same ground, Pakistan batted first and defeated South Africa by 33 runs on the basis of Duckworth-Lewis rule. 

New Zealand has played a total of four T20 matches here. Of these, it has won two and lost two. His success percentage is 50-50. Pakistan got one win in two matches, then one did not result. His success percentage is 100 percent. 

New Zealand

Defeated Australia by 89 runs in the first match.
The second match against Afghanistan was called off.
Defeated Sri Lanka by 65 runs in the third match.
In the fourth match, defeat to England by 20 runs.
Defeated Ireland by 35 runs in the fifth match.


Lost to India in the first match by 4 wickets.
In the second match, they were defeated by Zimbabwe by 1 run.
In the third match, they defeated Netherlands by 6 wickets.
In the fourth match, beat South Africa by 33 runs by DL rule.
In the fifth match, Bangladesh defeated Bangladesh by 5 wickets.
T20 WC: England scared before the semi-final match, the vice-captain said - Suryakumar is the best batsman in the world

Probable Playing XI of both the teams

Pakistan : Mohammad Rizwan, Babar Azam (Captain), Mohammad Nawaz, Mohammad Haris, Shan Masood, Iftikhar Ahmed, Shadab Khan, Mohammad Wasim, Naseem Shah, Haris Rauf, Shaheen Afridi.

New Zealand : Finn Allen, Devon Conway, Kane Williamson (c), Glenn Phillips, Daryl Mitchell, James Neesham, Mitchell Santner, Tim Southee, Ish Sodhi, Lockie Ferguson, Trent Boult.