Big change in the format of ICC T20 World Cup 2024, 20 teams will participate, there will be no qualifiers

Pankaj Prasad
ICC T20 World Cup 2024
ICC T20 World Cup 2024

ICC has made a big change in the format for T20 World Cup 2024.

The International Cricket Council (ICC) has started preparing for the T20 World Cup to be held in 2024. The ICC has made a big change regarding this. ICC has changed the format of this big global tournament. T20 World Cup 2024 will be organized in the West Indies and United States of America. According to the new update of ICC, 20 teams will participate in this tournament.

Complete format changed like this

The Super 12 formula will no longer exist in the T20 World Cup. Total 20 teams will be divided into four groups. The top two teams from all the groups will enter the Super-8. Once again the eight teams will be divided into two groups. The top two teams from both the groups will qualify for the semi-finals. Now two semi-final matches will be played and the winners of both matches will face each other in the final match. The winning team in the final will become the champion.

There will be no qualifier round

No qualifier match will be played in the T20 World Cup to be held in 2024, as was played in 2022. Along with this, the concept of Super-12 has also been abolished. Now the teams will directly enter the Super 8 and the way forward will be decided from there. Teams will definitely get the opportunity to play more leagues, but there will be no qualifier round. A total of 16 teams participated in this year's tournament. Out of which Super 12 matches were played in two groups between 12 teams.

12 teams have qualified directly

12 teams have been directly selected for the T20 World Cup to be held in 2024. These include India, Pakistan, West Indies, America, England, Australia, New Zealand, South Africa, Afghanistan, Bangladesh, Netherlands and Sri Lanka. Eight slots are still left. These teams will be selected on the basis of regional qualification. In such a situation, teams like Namibia, Scotland, Zimbabwe, Ireland have a great chance to qualify.