T20 World Cup 2024: ICC changed the rules of T20 World Cup, know what will be different in the new format

Pankaj Prasad
T20 World Cup 2024
T20 World Cup 2024

The concept of Super-12 has also been abolished in the T20 World Cup 2024 to be played in West Indies and America.

T20 World Cup 2024: The T20 World Cup 2024 will be played in a different format, in which the participating 20 countries will be divided into four groups of five teams each, while the first round will be followed by a Super Eight stage. According to the International Cricket Council (ICC), the last eight places of the year 2024 tournament will be decided by the regional qualification tournament.

Zimbabwe could not capitalize on a strong start to their T20 World Cup 2022 campaign and finished last in the Super 12 group, forcing them to play a regional qualification tournament. There will be two qualification spots each from Africa, Asia and Europe, while there will be one spot each from the Americas and the East Asia Pacific region.

Twelve teams have already booked their places for the next phase of the tournament to be played in West Indies and America. The hosts West Indies and the United States took the first two places. The top eight teams (top four teams from each of the Super 12 groups) from the recently concluded T20 World Cup in Australia have qualified for the 2024 tournament, which includes defending champions and runners-up Pakistan. Afghanistan and Bangladesh have also confirmed their place.

No qualifier match will be played in the T20 World Cup to be held in 2024, as was played in 2022. Along with this, the concept of Super-12 has also been abolished. Now the teams will directly enter the Super 8 and the way forward will be decided from there. Teams will definitely get the opportunity to play more leagues, but there will be no qualifier round.

There will be four different groups of five teams each in T20 World Cup 2024. The top 2 teams of each group will make it to the Super-8 stage. The Super-8 will then be divided into two groups of four each. The top two teams from each of the two Super Eight groups will play the semi-finals, followed by the final.