FIFA WC: Lionel Messi leads Argentina to World Cup final after eight years, defeats Croatia 3-0

Pankaj Prasad
Lionel Messi
Lionel Messi

Lionel Messi, one of the greatest football players in the world, once again led his team Argentina to the final of the World Cup.

Lionel Messi, one of the greatest football players in the world, once again led his team Argentina to the final of the World Cup. Argentina thrashed last-time runners-up Croatia 3-0 on Tuesday night. Messi scored one goal and assisted one goal in this match. He was adjudged player of the match. Argentina will now play against defending champions France or Morocco in the final on 18 December.

Messi has led Argentina to the final for the second time under his captaincy. Last time in 2014, his team could not cross the final hurdle. He was defeated by Germany in the final. Messi was still the captain of the team. He was voted the best player of the tournament and Messi received the Golden Ball for this. Then he went to collect this trophy in despair. This time also Messi is its contender and he would like to win the World Cup trophy along with it.

Messi did amazing in 69th minute

Messi performed magically in the match. He did brilliantly on the penalty in the 34th minute. He then assisted a goal for Julian Alvarez in the 69th minute, showing his amazing feet. Messi started to dodge the Croatian players in the middle of the field and reached the goal post. Then passed to Julian Alvarez standing near the goalpost. Alvarez made no mistake and hit the ball into the goalpost. He had earlier also scored a goal in the 39th minute. Football fans and experts around the world are praising Messi's assist in the 69th minute. This is considered to be the best assist of this World Cup.

Argentina's biggest knockout victory in 92 years

This is Argentina's biggest victory in World Cup knockout matches in the last 92 years. It had won the 1930 semi-final against the United States 6–1. After that, this is Argentina's biggest win in knockout matches.

How many times has Argentina reached the finals, Argentina's team has reached the finals for the sixth time. Earlier in 1930, he was defeated by Uruguay. In the 1978 final, Argentina captured the title for the first time by defeating the Netherlands. After that in 1986, he defeated West Germany in the final. Then in 1990 there was a defeat in the title match against West Germany. At the same time, in 2014 also he was defeated by Germany. Argentina is the fourth team to reach the final of the World Cup six times. Italy and Brazil have also done this six times each. Germany is at the forefront in this matter. She has played in the finals eight times.