Get Honorary PhD

Etah Fake Encounter: Life imprisonment to five policemen and five years jail to four, CBI court sentenced

Pankaj Prasad
Etah Fake Encounter
Etah Fake Encounter

An accused policeman has died during the trial.

The CBI court on Wednesday sentenced five policemen to life imprisonment and a fine of Rs 38,000 each, while four policemen were sentenced to five years in jail and 11-11 Sentenced to a fine of Rs. An accused policeman has died during the trial.

The then station in-charge Pawan Singh, SI Pal Singh Thenua, Sarnam Singh, Rajendra Prasad and jeep driver Mohkam Singh, convicted of killing a person in a fake encounter 16 years ago in Etah, have been sentenced to life imprisonment by a special CBI court. The court imposed a fine of Rs 33,000 each on all five in the murder case and Rs 11,000 each in the case of destruction of evidence. Apart from this, four policemen - Baldev Prasad, Ajay Kumar, Awadhesh Rawat and Sumer Singh were acquitted of the charge of murder, but were sentenced to 5 years each and fined Rs 11,000 each for destruction of evidence and giving false information.

After the charge sheet was filed in 2009, in the trial that lasted 13 years, it was proved after testimony of 202 people that constable Rajendra had made Rajaram work in the kitchen of his house. Rajaram had asked for the wages. When the soldier refused, Rajaram was adamant. On this, the constable hatched a conspiracy. Despite not registering a single case against Rajaram, the police of Sidhpura police station called him a robber. Instead of giving his dead body to the family members, he cremated himself in an unknown place.

CBI's Special Public Prosecutor Anurag Modi told the court that in the complaint filed in the High Court, Santosh Kumari, wife of Rajaram, had told that her husband was killed by policemen Pawan Singh, Palsingh Thenuwa, Ajant Singh, Sarnam Singh and Rajendra Prasad of police station Sidhpura district Etah. Was picked up on August 18, 2006 at 3 pm. At that time she was going to see her sick sister Rajeshwari Devi in Pahloi village along with husband Rajaram, brother-in-law Shiv Prakash, brother-in-law Ashok.

She told that she tried to get her husband released from the police, but the policemen said that they are taking her for questioning and will release her the next day. On August 28, 2006, the police station Sidhpura told the death of a robber in an encounter. After burning his dead body in an unknown place, told that he was Rajaram. Santosh told that when he first went to the police station to register the case, the police chased him away.

When the application was given in the district court, the application was rejected. After this they went to the High Court. The Lucknow bench of the High Court ordered a CBI inquiry. Starting the investigation in 2007, the CBI filed a charge sheet in 2009 against ten policemen, including the then SHO of Sidhpura, Pawan Kumar Singh. During the hearing, accused Inspector Ajant Singh died. Nine policemen were found guilty of murder and destruction of evidence.

Not even a single case was registered, yet it was told that no case was registered against the robber Rajaram in any police station. He also used to repair furniture in the houses of policemen. Despite this, killing him in an encounter by calling him a robber. The policemen recognized him, yet did not identify the dead body and cremated it in unknown. His family members were not even informed about his death. In the court, the police could neither prove him as a robber nor the encounter was real.

found guilty

1. Pawan Singh, the then Station House Officer, Police Station Sidhpura, District Etah, Permanent Address: Village Badehri Police Station Chhapar, District Muzaffarnagar
2. Shripal Thenua, the then Sub-Inspector, Police Station Sidhpura District Etah, Permanent Resident: Village Badehri Police Station Chhapar, District Muzaffarnagar
3. Sarnam Singh, the then Constable, Thana Sidhpura, Etah Permanent Resident Karunamayi Nagariya, Thana Bevar, Mainpuri
4. Rajendra Prasad, then Constable, Thana Sidhpura Etah, Permanent Resident: Dinauli, Thana Tundla, Firozabad
5. Mohkam Singh, then Government Vehicle Driver, Thana Sidhpura, Nangla Dala, Tehsil Karhal, Mainpuri
6 .Baldev Prasad, constable Sidhpura, resident of town and police station Harpalpur, Hardoi
. 7.Awadhesh Rawat, then constable Sidhpura Resident of Village Nangla Teja, Post Ridhauri Katra, PS Rouen, Agra
8. Ajay Kumar, then Constable, Sidhpura Police Station, Resident of Village Dheep, PS Ghirour Mainpuri
9. Sumer Singh Constable, Sidhpura Resident Nangla Teja, Post Ridhauri Katra PS Rouven, Agra

khaki stained with the blood of innocent

August 18, 2006: Rajaram was picked up at 3 pm while going to a relative.
August 18, 2006: He was shot dead in the forest of Sunhara village at 8.45 pm.
June 1, 2007: The High Court registered a case and ordered a CBI probe.
June 22, 2009: Chargesheet was filed in the CBI court.
December 4, 2015: Testimony begins, CBI produced a total of 202 witnesses.