Get Honorary PhD

Monsoon session of Maharashtra Legislative Assembly from today; Sharad faction made this demand for NCP MLAs to sit

Pankaj Prasad
Maharashtra Legislative Assembly Monsoon Session
Maharashtra Legislative Assembly Monsoon Session

The monsoon session of the Maharashtra Legislative Assembly is set to begin in Mumbai from Monday.

The monsoon session of the Maharashtra Legislative Assembly is set to begin in Mumbai from Monday. The three-week session will be held from Monday (July 17) to August 4 at the Vidhan Bhawan complex at Nariman Point. There are 24 bills proposed in this monsoon session. Of these, 10 have got approval from the cabinet and 14 are yet to be passed by the cabinet and will be tabled thereafter. A bill that has already been passed by the Legislative Council will be introduced in the Legislative Assembly.

Apart from this, a bill which is pending with a joint committee of both the houses is also expected to be introduced. Apart from these 24 Bills, 6 Ordinances already in force will also be presented in the Monsoon Session for the approval of the Legislature. Besides these, six ordinances already in force will be introduced in the monsoon session to seek approval from the Legislature.

This will be the first session after former Leader of Opposition and NCP leader Ajit Pawar broke ties with his uncle Sharad Pawar and joined hands with the BJP-Shiv Sena alliance. Although there are chances of uproar in this session. There is a tradition of tea party before the session. During this the government and the opposition come together. However, this time the opposition boycotted the party.

Sharad faction made this demand for sitting of NCP MLAs

At the same time, NCP's (Sharad Pawar faction) chief whip Jitendra Awhad has written a letter to the Speaker of the Maharashtra Legislative Assembly demanding separate seating arrangements for the members of the Ajit Pawar camp and the rest of the party's MLAs for the Legislature session starting on Monday. is of.

In a letter to Speaker Rahul Narvekar on Sunday, Awhad said barring nine MLAs, including Ajit Pawar, who joined the Shinde government, the Nationalist Congress Party is also part of the opposition. Except for the nine MLAs who will take oath, separate seating arrangements should be made for others. NCP is in opposition and we want to sit in opposition.

Maharashtra Assembly Speaker Narvekar recently said that in the case of the Nationalist Congress Party, there is no clear distinction between who is in power and who is not. He had said that there would be a lot of deliberation and debate on how to decide who represents the real NCP.

Before Ajit Pawar and eight other MLAs joined the Shiv Sena-BJP government earlier this month, the NCP had 53 MLAs in the 288-member assembly. Ajit Pawar's first meeting in Mumbai after the split in the party was attended by 35 NCP MLAs and five out of eight MLCs. However, the exact number of MLAs supporting the Ajit Pawar camp is not known.

Ajit and other NCP ministers met Sharad Pawar

Earlier, Ajit Pawar along with some other ministers of his Nationalist Congress Party (NCP) camp met NCP President Sharad Pawar in Mumbai on Sunday. Everyone urged Pawar to keep the party united. NCP leader Praful Patel told that the NCP chief listened to him silently, but did not say anything. This was the first meeting of the Ajit Pawar-led group with Sharad Pawar after joining the Shinde government on July 2 in rebellion against their uncle. Ajit Pawar along with NCP ministers- Hasan Mushrif, Chhagan Bhujbal, Aditi Tatkare and Dilip Walse Patil met Sharad Pawar at YB Chavan Centre.