The government constituted an eight-member committee on one country one election; Four non-political experts

Pankaj Prasad
Former President Ramnath Kovind
Former President Ramnath Kovind

The central government has constituted an eight-member committee on 'one nation-one election'.

The central government has constituted an eight-member committee on 'one nation-one election'. The Law Ministry has also issued a notification regarding this. It has been said that in the national interest it is desirable to hold simultaneous elections in the country. In such a situation, the Government of India may constitute a high-level committee to examine the issue of holding simultaneous elections.

Who are included in the eight-member committee

According to the Law Ministry, this committee will be headed by former President Ramnath Kovind. The committee includes Home Minister Amit Shah, Congress leader Ahir Ranjan Chowdhury, former Leader of Opposition in Rajya Sabha Ghulam Nabi Azad, former Finance Commission Chairman NK Singh, former Lok Sabha Secretary General Subhash C Kashyap, senior advocate Harish Salve and former Chief Vigilance Commissioner Sanjay Kothari. Are.

Meghwal will participate as a special invitee

Law Minister Arjun Ram Meghwal will attend the high-level committee meetings as a special invitee, a government notification said. The committee has been formed a few months before the assembly elections in five states and the Lok Sabha elections next year. Parliamentary Affairs Minister Prahlad Joshi had informed about the formation of the committee on Friday.

'I will discuss the agenda in the special session of Parliament'

He said, 'A committee has just been formed. A report of the committee will come out which will be discussed. Parliament is mature, and there will be discussion, there is no need to panic. India is called the mother of democracy, there is always development here. I will discuss the agenda of the special session of Parliament.