Get Honorary PhD

Assembly By-Elections 2024: Key Contenders and Constituencies

Khushbu Kumari Jha
Assembly By Elections 2024 Key Contenders and Constituencies
Assembly By Elections 2024 Key Contenders and Constituencies

Assembly By-Elections 2024: Big names in the fray, including Himachal Pradesh CM Sukhwinder Singh Sukhu’s wife Kamlesh Thakur. Overview of key constituencies and candidates.

The Assembly by-elections, the first major electoral event following the Lok Sabha elections 2024, are drawing significant attention with many prominent names entering the fray. One notable candidate is Kamlesh Thakur, the wife of Himachal Pradesh Chief Minister Sukhwinder Singh Sukhu, who is trying her luck in the political arena for the first time.

By-Elections in Key Assembly Constituencies

The by-elections are set to take place in several assembly constituencies across India, including Raiganj, Ranaghat South, Bagda, and Maniktala in West Bengal; Badrinath and Mangalore in Uttarakhand; Jalandhar West in Punjab; Dehra, Hamirpur, and Nalagarh in Himachal Pradesh; Rupauli in Bihar; Vikravandi in Tamil Nadu; and Amarwara in Madhya Pradesh. These elections are necessitated due to vacancies arising from the death or resignation of sitting members.

Intense Competition in West Bengal

A fierce battle is expected between the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) and the Trinamool Congress (TMC) in West Bengal’s Raiganj, Ranaghat South, Bagda, and Maniktala constituencies. The ruling TMC aims to replicate its strong performance from the Lok Sabha elections, while the BJP is keen to maintain its lead in these constituencies.

The Maniktala assembly seat by-election is being held following the death of TMC MLA Sadhan Pandey in February 2022. TMC has nominated Pandey’s wife, Supti Pandey, to contest from this seat. Other TMC candidates include Krishna Kalyani for Raiganj and Mukut Mani Adhikari for Ranaghat South. The BJP has fielded Kalyan Chaubey, President of the All India Football Federation, for Maniktala; Manoj Kumar Vishwas for Ranaghat South; Binay Kumar Vishwas for Bagda; and Manas Kumar Ghosh for Raiganj.

By-Elections in Himachal Pradesh

In Himachal Pradesh, by-elections will be held in Dehra, Hamirpur, and Nalagarh assembly constituencies. These seats became vacant following the resignation of independent MLAs Hoshiar Singh (Dehra), Ashish Sharma (Hamirpur), and KL Thakur (Nalagarh) on March 22. These MLAs had supported the BJP in the Rajya Sabha elections on February 27. A total of 13 candidates are vying for these three seats, with 259,340 voters expected to cast their ballots.

Electoral Dynamics and Expectations

The by-elections are crucial as they serve as a litmus test for political parties ahead of future elections. For the BJP, retaining or gaining seats in these by-elections would affirm their continued dominance and support base. For the TMC in West Bengal, maintaining their stronghold is critical to counter the BJP’s growing influence in the state.

In Himachal Pradesh, the entry of Kamlesh Thakur, wife of Chief Minister Sukhwinder Singh Sukhu, adds an intriguing dimension to the electoral battle. Her candidacy is expected to galvanize support for the ruling party, given her prominent political background.

The assembly by-elections 2024 are set to be a significant political event, with major parties and key candidates putting forth their best efforts. As voters head to the polls, the results will be keenly watched, providing insights into the political landscape and setting the stage for future electoral contests.