Bihar Election 2020: Raghopur, strong fort of Yaduvanshi for 53 years, Tejaswi is trying this seat of Lalu family

Joker members of Lalu family have been trying from Bihar's Raghopur assembly constituency.

17th October, 2020

Bihar Assembly Election 2020: For the last 53 years, Yaduvanshi is becoming an MLA in Raghopur Assembly seat. Whether the wave was of Congress or Jayaprakash Narayan, the voters expressed their trust in the Yaduvanshis. The party may have changed, but their caste has not changed. The special thing is that in most elections, the main contest has also taken place among the Yaduvanshi. If ever a major party nominated another candidate, the area has rejected it. Raghopur has been the traditional seat of the Rashtriya Janata Dal supremo Lalu Prasad Yadav's family. This time Lalu's son Tejashwi Yadav is trying hard from here.

Lalu-Rabri and Tejashwi represented for two decades

The Raghopur Assembly seat came into prominence in the 1995 election when Lalu Prasad contested from here as the then Chief Minister. In the history of the Assembly elections in Raghopur, Lalu won the elections with the most votes. He remained an MLA from here till 2000. After this, Rajgir Chaudhary won from RJD in the middle by-election. Rabri Devi was elected MLA from here in February and October 2005 elections. As of 2010 Rabri represented the locality. Rabri Devi was defeated by Satish Kumar Rai in the 2010 election. Then in the 2015 elections, Lalu-Rabri's younger son Tejashwi defeated Satish and took back his ancestral seat.

This time too, the candidates of both major alliances, Yaduvanshi

Tejashwi pitted against Satish in 2015 elections, Satish pitted Rabri in 2010, Rabri pitted against Satish in October 2005, Rabri pitted Rajiv Ranjan in February 2005 elections, Lalu faced Vishundev Rai in 2000 and 1995 . This time too, both major alliances have made Yaduvanshi the candidate from here.

Harvinsh Narayan Singh broke the practice

The only non-Yaduvanshi MLA from Raghopur seat has been Harivansh Narayan Singh. He won the Congress in the elections of 1952 and 1957, while in the 1967 elections on the Jan Sangh ticket.

Kamal is not feeding in the area

The lotus has not blossomed in the history of Assembly elections in Raghopur till date. From here, Satish stood for BJP in the 2015 elections, but had to face defeat. In this election too, Satish is in the fray as compared to Tejashwi. Yes, Harivansh Narayan Singh once won the election from here on behalf of Bharatiya Jana Sangh.

Yaduvanshi MLA from Raghopur for 13 terms

Year party won election

1962 SOC Devendra Singh

1969 Congress Ramvriksha Roy

1972 SOP Babulal Shastri

1977 Janata Party Babulal Shastri

1980 Janata Party So. Uday Narayan Rai

1985 Lokdal Uday Narayan Rai

1990 Janata Dal Uday Narayan Rai

1995 Janata Dal Uday Narayan Rai

2000 RJD Lalu Prasad

2005 February RJD Rabri Devi

2005 October RJD Rabri Devi

2010 JDU Satish Kumar

2015 RJD Tejaswi Prasad Yadav

Category: India: Election


Reported by:
Pankaj Prasad