Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy 2021: Ishan Kishan-Virat Singh's stormy innings, Raina-Dinesh Karthik also burns

Jharkhand, Baroda, UP, Tamil Nadu won in Syed Mushtaq Ali T20 tournament Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy 2021

17th January, 2021

Syed Mushtaq Ali T20 tournament (Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy 2021) Indian stars continue to flourish. On Saturday, Ishan Kishan, Virat Singh gave a tremendous half-century to his team and Suresh Raina also contributed to the UP victory. On the other hand, Dinesh Karthik also played an important role in the game of good innings and gave Tamil Nadu another victory. Baroda beat Maharashtra by 60 runs unilaterally but team captain Kedar Deodhar missed his century by just 1 run. He returned unbeaten on 99 runs.

In the Elite Group B match, Jharkhand defeated Odisha by a big margin of 54 runs. While Jharkhand scored 182 for 4 wickets batting first, captain Ishan Kishan scored 60 runs in 36 balls while batting in his own style. Kishan hit 3 sixes and 6 fours in his innings. Virat Singh, running in good form, once again showed his strength and scored an innings of 67 runs in 37 balls. Virat's innings was adorned with 10 fours and a six. In response, Odisha's team was reduced to just 128 runs. Bal Krishna took 4 wickets and Monu Kumar-Shahbaz Nadeem got 2-2 wickets.

Kedar Jadhav's slow innings, Baroda lost the match
In Group C match, Vadodara defeated Maharashtra by a big margin of 60 runs. Batting first, Vadodara scored 158 runs for 4 wickets, with captain Kedar Deodhar scoring an unbeaten 99 runs. In response, Maharashtra collapsed for 98 runs. Kedar Jadhav was dismissed after scoring 25 runs. Rituraj Gaikwad flopped again and returned to the pavilion after scoring 1 run.

UP and Tamil Nadu victory
UP also defeated Tripura's weak team by 9 wickets in a lopsided manner. Chasing a target of 123 runs, UP achieved the target in 14 overs. Karma Sharma scored the most unbeaten 68 runs and Suresh Raina also returned the unbeaten pavilion for 36 runs. Tamil Nadu defeated Hyderabad by 7 wickets in a thrilling match. Captain Karthik scored an unbeaten 40 runs. Opener Narayan Jagadeeshan scored an innings of 78 runs.

Category: Sports: Cricket


Reported by:
Khushbu Kumari Jha