Rajasthan Royals release Steve Smith, Sanju Samson will be the new captain of the team

Rajasthan Royals have released team captain Steve Smith before the mini auction to be held just before IPL season 2021.

20th January, 2021

The IPL franchise Rajasthan Royals has released team captain Steve Smith. He will no longer be seen playing for this team in IPL 2021. The performance of this team under the captaincy of Steve Smith was nothing special in the IPL 2020 played in the UAE. There was a lot of discussion by the team management to decide on Steve Smith and it was decided again. While Smith could not do anything special for the team, he was not as effective as a batsman. 

It has been said from the Rajasthan franchise that the team captain, Sanju Samson, has been appointed for the next season. Now he will captain the team in place of Steve Smith and Kumar Sangakkara has been appointed the new director of the team. Players such as Steve Smith's Asawa Varun Aaron, Ankit Rajput, Tom Curran have also been dropped. 

Under the leadership of Steve Smith, RR was the last in IPL 2020 last season. This team played 14 league matches out of which it won 6 matches and suffered losses in 8 matches. This team had a total of 12 points and was the last rung in the points table. Speaking of Steam Smith's batting, he scored 311 runs in 14 matches this season at an average of 25.91 which included two fifties. His best score in the 13th season of IPL was 69 and his strike rate was 131.22. 

Rajasthan Royals retained these players

Sanju Samson, Ben Stokes, Joffra Archer, Jose Butler, Ryan Parag, Shreyas Gopal, Rahul Tewatia, Mahipal Lomror, Karthik Tyagi, Andrew Tay, Jaydev Unadkat, Mayank Markande, Yashasvi Jaiswal, Anuj Rawat, David Miller, Manan Vohra, Robin Uthappa . 

These players were released

Steve Smith, Ankit Rajput, Oshane Thomas, Akash Singh, Varun Aaron, Tom Curran, Anirudh Joshi, Shashank Singh.

Category: Sports: Cricket


Reported by:
Pankaj Prasad