The Indian team has been announced for the T20 series against England. The team was selected under the leadership of Chief Selector Chetan Sharma on Saturday. Keeping in mind the T20 World Cup, the selectors have given a chance to the new players by resting the senior players. For the 5-match series, 3 new players have been selected in the team for the first time.

A 19-member Indian squad was announced on Saturday for the 5-match T20 series to be played with England in Ahmedabad. Three new faces have been included in this team. Ishan Kishan, Suryakumar Yadav, and Rahul Tewatiya, who have made a mark in domestic cricket, have been included in the Indian team for the first time. On the other hand, mystery spinner Varun Chakraborty, who was ruled out due to injury after being selected on Australia, has also been selected for this series.

Suryakumar Yadav

Suryakumar Yadav had knocked on the doors of the selectors in the UAE in the Indian Premier League. Yadav had scored 283 runs in 11 matches while he scored 424 runs in the 2019 IPL. Many veterans were questioned over not being selected for the touring team in Australia.

Ishan Kishan

A few hours before being selected in the T20 squad, Ishan played a stormy 173 runs in the Vijay Hazare Trophy. The batsman impressed the game selectors with 94 fours and 11 sixes off 94 balls. In the 2020 IPL too, Ishan had made everyone a batsman by batting. Against Royal Challengers Bangalore, he hit 99 off 58 balls with the help of 9 sixes and 2 fours.

Rahul Teotia

In the UAE, Rahul Tewatia, who converted for the loss of Rajasthan Royals by hitting sixes, has also got a place in the Indian team for the first time. A 31-ball 53-run innings game against Kings XI Punjab (now Punjab Kings) was won by Rahul. He won the biggest victory by scoring 7 sixes and presented a claim for the T20 team.